Post by siouxsiesiouxsix on Jul 1, 2020 6:06:02 GMT
If somebody delete their content (moves/parts) from the steam workshop, it will be deleted from my game if i'm subscribed to? Thanks in advance and sorry for my english since it's not my native language.
That method works for edits and (if you're on PC- since the files are stored locally) parts/rings. But moves are not stored locally- steam does a check of your subscriptions every time you load the game. But if you keep everything else local, the only thing you'd have to do is replace the deleted moves.
If you unsubscribe from an edit it doesn't automatically delete your edit though, right? So is it necessary to make a copy on your pc in case something happens to the original or is unsubscribing enough?
Ugh it's so inconsistent and confusing. I unsubbed from all the moves and they're still there on PS4. The only thing that remained:
Moves, edits, refs
What I lost:
logos, parts, textures
I used the PSN online save backup thing and it didn't contain any of the logo / parts data. That is saved in a part of the save file that you can't backup, can't copy, and can't prevent from being overwritten by subbing or if a creator deletes their content. We gotta get them to fix this.
PS4 and PC are a bit different. For the PS4, you can really only save edits locally. The rest, if the creator decides to delete, are gone- there is nothing on your save that holds on to any of that stuff.
For PC, when you sub to any texture file (ring, part, logo) there is a local file that downloads. You can rename that file and thus have it saved locally- this will still break the connection with your subbed edit but there are ways around that (locally saving the edit and manually re-applying).
Moves work as a sub on PC (not sure about PS4), so you never keep a local version and therefor are at the whim of the creator.
Edits work differently than any of the above, since the subscription is installed. If you unsub on the workshop (or FPW net) you still have a local copy- you'd need to uninstall to get rid of that edit.
Moves on PS4 are NOT sub based, since I was able to unsub from all of them and then upload the PS4 save file from one PS4 and move it to another. The moves were there, as there is an actual MOVE CRAFT WORK save and MOVE CRAFT DATA save.